acts of faith · Africa · the comfort couch

a song in the desert

 

So, here’s my take on Missions:

  1. Everyone’s called to share the Good News.
  2. All you have to do is show God’s love to people.

That’s really all there is to it.

Reach Every Nation in our generation, to bring Supernatural Transformation to our world, on person at a time.

I recently went on mission to Namibia with my good friend, Winnie_Sepeng.

I will not lie. It was challenging.

In April 2011, I visited Windhoek with a team from His People Potchefstroom. We spent most of the time in the Babilon township, helping out with the preschool and going into the community to pray for and minister to the people.

 

First off, I must start this blog by honouring God for the many and gracious ways in which He made it possible for us to go to Namibia. I’ve spent the past three days just mulling over all the experiences, and praying about which testimonies to share, because they all really are awesome, and there are so many!

So, I’ll start by telling you about the ADMIN.

Martin, one of the guys on the Extension Missions team from HP Potchefstroom was in charge of all the admin and logistics regarding the mission. Then, he had to go home for the holidays to spend time with his family. Initially, there was space for about fifteen people on the team, but due to studies and bursaries and other complications, it was only Winnie and I that went to Namibia.

The admin, for me, was one of the most challenging aspects of the mission. I’m reluctant to admit it, but the truth is, I was starting to wonder if the mission were still worth the while if only two people were going. And my, oh, my — was it worth it?!

I knew from the start that God told us to go there, and while interceding for the outreach, and praying for Babilon specifically, God gave us word-upon-word of the things that He planned. Therefore, I concluded that this doubt was merely the enemy trying to phase us.

Four days before the mission started (on July 1, 2012) Winnie and I were still not certain how we were going to get to Windhoek. Neither of us have a car. Bus tickets cost about 700 bucks, and air tickets cost 3000 bucks — one direction. On a budget of 3000 bucks each, our combined money would hardly be enough to get us there. Or so we thought.

I phoned Pastor Ephraim Muesee two days before leaving (Monday) to finalize the accommodation and clear out whether we needed our own cutlery and bedding. Then, I phoned my dad to sort out some personal admin for Uni, and in the end, all the finances were sorted within less than three hours.

My dad gave us a thousand bucks, a friend of my mum gave us another 1500, and we were able to use the Missions Fund to pay for the rest. Before we knew it, Winnie and I were in Sure Travel‘s office on the Bult, booking our plane tickets to Namibia.

Then, the next problem was — how do we get to OR Tambo Airport at 07:00 on a Wednesday morning if everyone we know that lives in Joburg already went home for the holidays, or had broken cars, or no cars, or had to work? The thing is, we already had to leave around 05:30 to be on time, and miss all the traffic. Then, on Tuesday evening around 23:20, Bernard said he’d take us to the airport  — God had provided us with a lift!

Okay, so now for some ADVENTURE!

At the airport, (on July 4th),Winnie and I decided to do some TREASURE HUNTING. I’ve shared about this in an earlier blog, but for more info you can check out http://store.ibethel.or g/p1156/the-ultimate-treasure-hunt

We started out by writing down some clues. Mine was:

  • african woman with curly hair (permed??)
  • young boy (about 6 or 7) that is at home
  • heart disease in family (husband or father?)
  • red handbag
  • Mugg & Bean [coffee shop]

Winnie’s clues were:

  • orange top with black pants (looks like uniform)
  • tie
  • bitten by snake (enemy’s attack??)
  • word for this guy: “open your heart to God.”
  • flower market

So, we set out hunting for our treasures. The first guy we spoke to matched Winnie’s map. However, halfway through the introduction, I spotted a lady that matched the description on my map, and I excused myself. I caught up with her just as they (she was walking with her husband) rounded the corner and passed Spur, situated right next to Mugg & Bean.

Liz and her husband matched all the clues on my list with the exception that Liz was wearing a red jersey and not a red handbag. They’re both from Zimbabwe and were underway to the Emirates on holiday. Their son is two years old, is at home with his grandparents, Ruth and Elijah. Also, both their parents (i.e. parents on both sides) suffer from heart disease and high blood pressure. So, right there in the middle of OR Tambo’s food court, I got to pray with Liz and her husband (whose name eludes me) and for their parents, and I got to prophesy over her son, Benjamin.

Meanwhile, Winnie was blazing up some Holy Fire, praying for her treasure. However, she felt that it was not him just yet, so we kept on searching and hunting. In the end, we spoke to four people matching the description — either God had a lot to tell people (which was the case), or many people just so happened to be wearing orange on that particular day.

When we spoke to Xolani [pronounced as KHO-la-NI] he was so shocked by the accuracy of Winnie’s word that he literally ran away. Then, we spoke to Kuba, a Zimbabwean who suffered from migraines and nausea. We prayed, and although the migraine could not be tested at that moment, the nausea left instantly. We also spoke into his life and shared the Words of Knowledge God gave us. Then, just before entering the boarding gate, we spoke to Bolelani, who also matched the description. I had more Word of Knowledge about his relationship with his father, and even though he was slightly freaked out by the fact that we knew it, he allowed us to pray for him.

It was awesome!

Okay, so now you’ve reached that point in my blog where you’re either really bored with the detail, or really interested in hearing the rest of the testimonies.

Seeing that this is the part where we board the plane and actually GO TO NAMIBIA, I suggest that you continue reading.

On Thursday, 5 July, we accompanied Pastor Anne Muller from the Windhoek Central Church and Teacher Aino in taking one of the preschool classes to the Museum in town. It was an invigorating experience, and we got to build many relationships with the five-year olds. Also, it was an honour to observe the way Aino went about the children, and to see their love and respect for her, despite the fact that they kept on shooting at the boundaries of disobedience. A definite treat was hearing them sing “Jesus loves me, yes I know!” a gazillion times on the way back to the township. This was exchanged, at intervals, with “Yesterday ! Today! Tomorrow! We, we follow Jesus Christ!” and a cat-chorus of “Me-e-e-e-lo-o-o-ody! Me-e-lo-ody!” resounding from joyful hearts.

Back in Babilon, we accompanied Pastor Ephraim in visiting Annie, an elderly woman from the His People Babilon congregation who has been diagnosed with HIV/Aids. She had many stories to share, and we learned to much from her life experiences! She asked that we pray for her before we left, so Winnie and I prophesied and spoke into her life, and I had word of knowledge that she suffered from back pain. After the second or third time that we prayed, she said the pain was almost completely gone! YAY JESUS!

Then Pastor Ephraim , who seems to be the local pastor, and local chauffeur, went to pick up an elderly Herero woman at her house to take her to hospital. She does not speak any English, but through pastor Ephraim’s Damara and her daughter’s English,  we were able to pray for her and communicate. She had fainted a few times and was suffered from severe nausea. Winnie had Word of Knowledge about the origin of her nausea and the pain in her stomach. And I had word of knowledge about pain in her wrists. When I prayed for the pain in her wrists to leave, she said the pain was now in her arms.

Ah, man, this might sound un-Christian, but I love it when that happens, because then it means that the pain is not a pain at all, but merely a spirit of infirmity. And, since the devil is extremely lame and Jesus’ Name is All Powerful, I just commanded the spirit to leave and voi la! all the pain was gone. YAY! Ah, Man! Jesus is awesome!

Christuskirche, Windhoek, Namibia
Christuskirche, Windhoek, Namibia (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So, the word count is already close to 1500, and seeing as this is becoming a bit lengthy and I haven’t even reached the cool part, I’ll have to write a second (and third??) blog about the other testimonies and personal journeys God sent us on, En Route to Namibia.

May you be greatly blessed by the intimacy of His presence, and may you labour with Holy Spirit in the same way that Jesus communes with Father.

I’ll tell you some more soon! Stay posted!

4 thoughts on “a song in the desert

  1. All glory, all honour, all power, all adoration amd all praise be unto out heavenly Father!!!! Man as i read this God conitnues to show me how great He is, how awesome of an orchestra setter He is (^^,). I just want to love Him more and more!

Leave a Reply

