acts of faith · Africa · dreams · revelation · testimony · the comfort couch

feast

My dear friends!

I trust you are well?

I’d just like to drop by a quick thought. Forgive my in-cohesive writing, but I’m just sharing what’s on my heart.

Earlier today I was listening to Lead me to the Rock Radio on streaming and I just realised — that which you feast your soul upon will become that which it craves.

One often hears that eyes are the windows to the soul, which is more true than might seem upon first glance. Windows, of course, allows one as much to see out as it allows others to see in.

I am currently doing a relationship series with the women from my cell groups, and one of the topics we recently discussed is the issue of purity. The world has so much “advice” to offer on relationships that it’s at times hard to filter out the noise and really focus on what God regards as PURE.

One of my favourite scriptures is form Song of Solomon 8. Verse 14 says:

[Joyfully the radiant bride turned to him, the one altogether lovely, the chief among then thousand to her soul, and with unconcealed eagerness to begin her life of sweet companionship with him, she answered] Make haste my beloved, and come quickly, like a gazelle or a young hart [and take me to our waiting home] upon the mountain of spices.

Relationships are such a complex matter! I’m not married yet, but I cannot ignore the parallels in our relationships with one another and our relationship with Jesus Christ.

It’s no wonder that He calls us His bride! And that’s why this verse from Song of Solomon stirs at my heart — the prospect of meeting up with the Bridegroom.

Purity is as much a matter of the heart and mind as it is of the flesh. Romans 12 urges us to not be conformed to the pattern of the world, but to let our minds be renewed by Holy Spirit to simulate the mind of Christ. Romans 8 especially speaks about living in the Spirit:

There is therefore now no more condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus. For the law of the Spirit of life has set you free in Christ Jesus from the law of sin and death. For God has done what the law, weakened by the flesh, could not do. By sending his own Son in the likeness of sinful flesh, in order that the righteous requirement of the law might be fulfilled in us, who walk not according to the flesh but according to the Spirit. For those who live according to the flesh set their minds on the things of the flesh, but those who live according to the Spirit set their minds on the things of the Spirit.

This does not mean that you should be in Super Spiritual Mode all the time, but what it DOES imply is that you should be so tuned in to what God is saying that the things of the world become less important. In other words, that which you feast your soul on will become that which it craves.

Have you ever been on a diet, or a fast even, and then become SO HUNGRY that you just cheat because it’s the easier route out? The same principle counts when striving to live a life in the Spirit. If you don’t eat chocolate all the time you won’t crave chocolate all the time. In a sense, you wean your body from its dependency of the endorphins and sugar rush chocolate pumps into your blood.

I’ve seen in my own life that, the less time I spend reading God’s word and seeking His face, the less dependent I become of it. Obviously, the opposite is also true — the more time I spend seeking God’s face the more I need it!

So, my invitation to you — sit down at the feast He has ready before your enemy. May you feast your eyes on things that are pleasing and desirable, above repute. May you quench your musical thirst on songs of praise and songs of gladness. May you be a living sacrifice to Him!

As Psalm 34 says, may you TASTE and SEE that the Lord is good, and may THAT become the thing that you feast your soul upon!

4 thoughts on “feast

Leave a Reply

