Africa · dreams · the comfort couch

cat walk

Yesterday was Mother’s Day. Facebook, Instagram and Twitter was filled with people honoring their mothers, and seeing it filled me with happiness. I’m pretty sure everyone says this about their own mothers, but I have a pretty special mother! She’s my cheerleader, lover, supporter, encourager, prayer-warrior, and I literally am who I am because she spent at least four years of my teenage life in constant prayer.

Proverbs 31 not only describes my mother, but it is a list of things that I would like to be 🙂

However, today is not about Mother’s Day, it’s about cat walks.

Admittedly, I am a bit of a cat-lady. No, I’m not the owner of multiple cats that make your house smell weird. Nor am I a confirmed spinster (God, please!), or a profound stamp collector. In essence, none of these things make you a cat-lady, I suppose, but I must admit to being greatly in love with my multiple bookshelves, and of course, my handsome partner of the past eight years — Morgan.

Morgan happily sleeps away the morning while I work on assignments that are due this week.
Morgan happily sleeps away the morning while I work on assignments that are due this week.

As I was watching Morgan doze off in the skimpy winter sun, Holy Spirit spoke to me about lessons I have learnt from my cat. They’re not illustrious, but I gladly share them with you.

1) Rest.Cats have the simplest lives imaginable. They sleep when they’re sleepy, and even when they’re not. They eat when they’re hungry, and when they don’t have food in their bowls, you can count on the fact that they’ll let you know about it. yet, this is the funny thing about cats — they are content (once they are content) to rest. We need to make time to rest in God’s presence. And by rest I do not necessarily imply PASSIVITY. Active rest in His presence is a realization of His constant presence. When life gets busy and chaotic, take a moment to REST.

Psalm 23

The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want. He makes me lie down in green pastures. He leads me beside still waters. He restores my soul. He leads me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake. Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; Your rod and your staff, they comfort me. You prepare a table before me int he presence of my enemies; you anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows. Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life, and I shall dwell in the house of the LORD forever.

2) Quality Time. No cat with a proper attitude will pass on the opportunity to be brushed, stroked or petted. I’m convinced that Morgan’s love language is touch. There’s nothing he likes more than a good brush. I might not like brushing him, seeing that his hair is all over the place when I do, but he loves it, so I guess in a way it’s a love-agreement. My love language is Quality Time, and Jesus IS LOVE, so he likes spending time with me — TOTAL WIN!

So, here’s what I learnt about love: you have to make time to spend time with those you are in relationship with. If you never meet up with someone (whether it’s God, or a friend, or a family member), you’ll never get to know their likes, dislikes, interests, thoughts, desires, prayers, etcetera.

1 Corinthians 13:4-8

Love is patient and kind; love down not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth. Love bears all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never ends.

3) Walk on high places. I remember this one time, I was perhaps 16 or 17 years old, when my sister came running into my room at 05:30 AM one day. She was upset because Morgan had jumped from her window on to the neighbor’s roof and now he couldn’t get back down. I went to her room to survey the situation. I arrived to find my mother with a piece of droĂ«wors in hand, trying to coax Morgan closer to the edge so that she and my sister could lure him back through the window. Morgan, however, patiently waited for her to throw a piece of the meat on the roof; he would then leisurely take it, chomp away at it, and then return to his earlier perch. My sister tried catching him with a fish net (one of those puddle-nets), which also failed. I watched in amusement, and eventually left because I had to lead a prayer meeting at school in a couple of minutes. If I remember correctly, my sister was late for school that day due to Morgan’s roof-climbing excursion.

My sister now has her own cat, and just yesterday she told me how she had called him and how he had jumped in between and on the stair railing on the second story of our life — an acrobat if ever one existed.

So, here’s what I’ve learned: cats trust their feet well enough to walk on high places without fear. I have learned that “blind faith” often leads you right on the path that God has planned for you in the first place. No matter how dire the circumstances, He makes your feet secure — trust Him and you’ll see how things work together for good.

Habakkuk 3:17-19

Though the fig tree should not blossom, nor the fruit be on the vines, the produce of the olive fail and the fields yield no food, the flock be cut off from the fold, and there be no herd in the stalls, yet I will rejoice in the LORD; I will take joy in the God of my salvation. GOD, the lord is my strength; he makes my feet like the deer’s; he makes me tread on my high places.

4) Clean up. Cats have impeccable hygiene. Well, most of them anyway. I don’t get how they do it, but cat’s have the ability to lick themselves dry. It boggles me, haha! The point it however, that they take the time to clean up. And here’s what this implies in life: don’t let the junk get you down. Clean out the trash regularly, and don’t hang on to offense. When you’ve tread dirt on someone else’s carpet, apologize, and if possible, restore the relationship. Confess you sin to someone who keeps you accountable, and ask God for forgiveness. The enemy’s greatest tactic is guilt. When we keep things in the dark it continuously gnaws at our conscience and it’s much easier to fall into temptation. However, when the Light meets the dark, healing takes place. Lies cannot stay hidden in the Truth. So, when you’re doubting, bring those things into the Light of God’s word, and see what He says about it.

Psalm 119:105

Your Word is lamp unto my feet and a light unto my path.

James 5:16

Therefore, confess your sins to one another and pray for one another, that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person has great power as it is working.

5) Feel the love. Morgan never questions the fact that I love him, and he never questions my love for him. This is a recent lesson I’ve had to learn: I cannot control everything. I like making people happy and I like it when things work out for those I love. However, there are some things that I cannot change, even if I want to. And not being able to control those things is okay.

Loving on other people is one of the greatest gifts we can give them. Our words or our actions may not change circumstances (even though I DO believe in the power of words and prophetic acts), but LOVING always changes hearts.

Secondly, it’s okay for YOU to be loved. Jesus loves you IMMENSELY. The whole point of your existence is to be the focus of His love. He gave his life so that you might come to understand and know His love in relationship with Him, Father, and Holy Spirit. You are worthy of love and affection. You are treasured and loved.

Psalm 27:4

One thing I have asked of the LORD, that I will seek after: that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to gaze upon the beauty of the LORD  and to inquire in his temple.

 

So, may you and Jesus go on a cat-walk or two, or three, or more! May you come to know Him in the every-day things of doing life. May Holy Spirit impart his heart to you.

Have a brilliant week!

P.S. you now have my permission to YouTube a couple of cat videos 🙂 >> exercise those stomach muscles!

Leave a Reply

